Baby Boomers, Gen X and Gen Y

5 posters

Go down

Baby Boomers, Gen X and Gen Y Empty Baby Boomers, Gen X and Gen Y

Post by Lee Fri Jan 03, 2014 10:42 am

The time after Christmas is tough for us Baby Boomers. It's the time when your modest understanding of technology is laid bare, when your memory is tested and found wanting and when the differences between a modern Christmas and those of long gone years become so much more apparent.

Growing up then was pretty simple, even though you didn't think so at the time.  Perhaps you got a new bike for Christmas, or a cricket set. Whatever it was, one thing was almost cetain. It came complete. (For Gen Y, that means it didn't need putting together, a difficult concept to grasp, I agree). Now, I confess I'm a Chartered Accountant. This puts me well behind the 8 ball when it comes to completing anything technical or practical, although I am gradually mastering the difficult task of 'cutting and pasting'.

We used to get a cricket set, complete, bung the stumps up in the street and play.  Occasionally, but not often, you'd have to stop for a car (we are talking side streets, here), before resuming play.  Presents now are different. 'Insert nut A into left handed reverse threaded doowocky B'. It takes a Chartered Accountant some hours to complete any of these productions and it's never satisfying.  Perhaps this is because I'd run out of bandaids, but more likely that feeling of worrying dissatisfaction that is always there.  You eventually decide that the extra 'Nut A' you finished up with probably wouldn't make much difference.

Probably.

Instruction sheets for even the most complicated presents were relatively brief.  Instruction booklets now rival 'War and Peace' in size. That's for a potato peeler.